Uganda celebrates national team qualifying for T-20 Cricket World Cup-Xinhua

Uganda celebrates national team qualifying for T-20 Cricket World Cup

Source: Xinhua

Editor: huaxia

2023-11-30 22:02:15

KAMPALA, Nov. 30 (Xinhua) -- Ugandans are celebrating the national cricket team's qualification for the T20 World Cup 2024, set to take place in the USA and West Indies.

The Uganda Cricket Cranes secured their maiden T20 World Cup spot by defeating Rwanda by nine wickets with 71 balls remaining in their final qualifying match in Namibia.

Namibia topped the qualifiers, with Uganda finishing second. Both teams will join test-playing nation South Africa in the tournament.

"This is a very special time to see our team qualify for the World Cup. We thank the players and the coaches for the work well done to ensure the team qualified for the T20 World Cup," Dr. Bernard Ogwel, Secretary of the National Council of Sports (NCS), told Xinhua.

David Karashani, a former Uganda Cricket Cranes captain, expressed his gratitude towards the team. "Having flirted with greatness for decades, the Cricket Cranes have crossed the rubicon of sporting eternity and etched their names in the book of national legends upon reaching the sporting summit of the T20 World Cup," said Karashani.

The First Lady, Janet Kataaha Museveni, wife of the Ugandan President and Minister of Education and Sports, also congratulated the team. "I take this opportunity to warmly congratulate Cricket Cranes in celebration of this incredible milestone. We thank God for gifting you and Uganda such a massive stage at the T20 World Cup for you to showcase your talents and achieve even more," added Kataaha Museveni.

Sarah Nalubega, another supporter of cricket, described the qualification as massive. "These players have worked so hard under a local coach and managed to qualify. The government needs to reward them for the job well done," she added.

David Murungi, a rugby fan, emphasized the significance of the achievement for Uganda, noting it will provide a solid foundation for Cricket in the country. "We thank the Cricket Cranes for putting the Ugandan flag high," he added.

The 20 teams participating in the World Cup include hosts West Indies and USA, along with Australia, England, India, Bangladesh, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Uganda, Namibia, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, the Netherlands, Ireland, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Canada, Nepal, and Oman.